Friday, February 13, 2009

2009 Wisconsin Technology Achievement Awards from the MIT Club of Wisconsin

The recipients of the 2009 MIT Club of Wisconsin Technology Achievement Awards have just been announced.
  • Individual: James Hyde, Department of Biophysics, Medical College of Wisconsin

  • Small Company: Paradigm Sensors, Impedance Spectroscopy, Milwaukee

  • Large Company: Orion Energy Systems, Energy Efficiency & Directly Renewable Technology, Manitowoc

  • Special Award: Venture Center @ Fox Valley Technical College, Appleton

This is very exciting news for me, for I had the privilege of nominating Orion Energy Systems, based on the impressive experience I had there in interviewing company leaders and touring their operations to develop a case study of excellence in a chapter of the forthcoming book, Conquering Innovation Fatigue: Overcoming the Barriers to Personal and Corporate Success by Jeff Lindsay, Cheryl Perkins, and Mukund Karanjikar (John Wiley & Sons, July 2009).

I've also worked with Fox Valley Technical College and am highly impressed with their Venture Center and the FABLAB at FVTC - one of the finest such facilities in the nation.

The Tech Awards will be held on Friday, March 13 at the Country Springs Hotel, 2810 Golf Road, Waukesha, WI starting at 5:30 pm. The keynote speaker will be Sherwin Greenblatt, MIT, Co-Founder & Former President of BOSE Corporation.

I'm planning to be at the awards dinner. This will be quite a treat!

Register for the event today at:


Anonymous said...

Way to go Orion!

Anonymous said...

This is supposed to be an outstanding event. How can people nominate companies for next year's awards?